Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Ireland centre Ringrose returns to action as Leinster and Munster name teams for PRO14 derby

(Photo by Getty Images)

Ireland centre Garry Ringrose will make his first start for Leinster since sustaining a jaw injury in the Heineken Champions Cup in December.


Ringrose hurt his jaw in a friendly fire incident with teammate Jimmy O’Brien in the game. The centre had broken his jaw two months earlier against Italy in the belated ending to the 2020 Guinness Six Nations.

It’s a welcome return for Ringrose, who will be eager to find form ahead of the Six Nations and the British and Irish Lions tour.

Video Spacer

Alex Sanderson talk to RugbyPass:

Video Spacer

Alex Sanderson talk to RugbyPass:

Robbie Henshaw is selected at inside centre with Ringrose winning his 80th cap outside him.

Johnny Sexton to captain the side from outhalf, with fellow Ireland teammate Hugo Keenan claims the full back jersey, with Jordan Larmour on the right-wing and Jimmy O’Brien on the left.

Sexton is joined by Luke McGrath in the half-backs. In the pack Cian Healy is joined by Seán Cronin and Andrew Porter in the front row.

Scott Fardy and James Ryan are selected behind them in the second row, while Rhys Ruddock, Will Connors and Caelan Doris complete the pack.

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Jordan Larmour
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Jimmy O’Brien
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Luke McGrath
1. Cian Healy
2. Seán Cronin
3. Andrew Porter
4. Scott Fardy
5. James Ryan
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Will Connors
8. Caelan Doris


16. Rónan Kelleher
17. Ed Byrne
18. Tom Clarkson
19. Ross Molony
20. Jack Conan
21. Jamison Gibson-Park
22. Ross Byrne
23. Josh van der Flier

Munster have also named their team for the clash, which sees just two changes to the side that won away in Connacht two weeks ago as Rhys Marshall and John Ryan come into the front row. Peter O’Mahony captains the side with CJ Stander, Mike Haley and replacement Jack O’Donoghue set to make landmark appearances.

Already the province’s most-capped overseas signing, Stander will make his 150th Munster appearance against Leinster.

Haley will make his 50th appearance for the province at full-back while Jack O’Donoghue, who has 128 Munster appearances, is set to play his 100th game in the PRO14.


James Cronin packs down alongside Marshall and Ryan in the front row with Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne in the engine room. Gavin Coombes, O’Mahony and Stander form the back row.

Conor Murray and JJ Hanrahan start in the half-backs with a centre partnership of Damian de Allende and Chris Farrell.

Haley starts at full-back with Keith Earls and Shane Daly on either flank.

Munster: Mike Haley; Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Gavin Coombes, Peter O’Mahony (C), CJ Stander.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Donoghue, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Rory Scannell.

Referee: Andrew Brace (IRFU)


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING Report: France planning to stiff 2025 tour to play All Blacks France planning to stiff 2025 tour to play All Blacks