Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Howlett, Campese, Underwood among newly-inducted RugbyPass Hall of Fame No14s

By Sam Smith
Doug Howlett and David Campese. (Photos by Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

The 14th wave of inductees into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame has been revealed with the finest wingers to ever grace the game recognised on Thursday. Home to the greatest rugby players of all-time, the RugbyPass Hall of Fame acknowledges and recognises the outstanding efforts of the trailblazers from the amateur era through to the global stars who light up the sport to this day.


The amalgamation of rugby’s top players from the amateur and professional eras has been reflected in the RugbyPass Hall of Fame’s first-ever induction announcement, from which 12 of rugby’s best right wingers have been unveiled as inductees.

Among the headline names inducted into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame include some of the game’s most prolific scoring talents.

Japan’s Daisuki Ohata who holds the world record for the most tries in test rugby (69) joins Wallaby great David Campese, who scored 64, enter the Hall of Fame as two of the game’s most lethal finishers.

All Blacks John Kirwan (10th), Jeff Wilson (5th) and Doug Howlett (1st) are all in the top ten of New Zealand’s all-time try scorers and have a combined 128 tries between them. 2011 World Cup winner Cory Jane – the man with arguably the best fend the game’s ever seen – is also a candidate on the list.

Wales are represented by Ieuan Evans, who was a prolific try scorer for Wales and the British and Irish Lions in the 1980s and 90s. He also previously held the record for most caps for Wales as captain.

Other inductees include Shane Horgan, Andrew Trimble and Simon Geoghegan of Ireland, and Rory Underwood of England.



Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free