Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Breakthrough player of the year nominees revealed

By Ian Cameron
Ange Capuozzo (Getty Images)

World Rugby have revealed the Breakthrough Player of the Year nominees ahead of the World Rugby Awards which will be held in Monaco this coming weekend.


New Zealand and Ireland have the most nominations across both the women’s and men’s categories.

England’s Maud Muir, Fiji’s Vitalina Naikore, New Zealand’s Maiakawanakaulani Roos and Ruby Tui have been nominated in the women’s category; while England’s Henry Arundell, Italy’s Ange Capuozzo, Ireland’s Mack Hansen and Ireland’s Dan Sheehan have all been nominated in the men’s category.

“Having broken into the Ireland team during the men’s Six Nations, Dan Sheehan and Mack Hansen each played an integral role in the series win against New Zealand in July,” said World Rugby in a statement. “Italy full-back Ange Capuozzo scored twice on his debut and then set up the match-winning try as the Azzurri secured a first win against Wales in 15 years. Henry Arundell made an instant impact on test rugby, scoring a try within six minutes of coming on to win his first England cap, against Australia in July.”

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “The World Rugby Awards are the ultimate accolades for rugby, and we are delighted to honour the outstanding players and individuals who have made an impact on our game on and off the field in 2022.

“On behalf of World Rugby, I would like to congratulate all nominees of this 22nd edition for their incredible achievements over the past calendar year. Not only have they showcased tremendous rugby skills, but they have also inspired millions of fans around the world helping spread the values of our sport.

“I am looking forward to host the global rugby family next Sunday under the high patronage of HSH Princess Charlene of Monaco and the Principality for a night of celebration in Monte-Carlo.”

Fans can cast their vote on social media and select their winners for the two International Rugby Players Men’s and Women’s Try of the Year categories until Thursday, 17 November at 23:59 GMT.


More nominees will be revealed in the week.


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE How England can shatter the All Blacks' Eden Park streak How England can shatter the All Blacks' Eden Park streak