Super Rugby Trans-Tasman Final Live this Saturday for just £5! Watch Trans-Tasman Final just £5!
Close Notice
Show scores
PRO 14    

Teams named for historic PRO14 Monday Night fixture

By Online Editors
Damian de Allende of Munster (Photo By Brendan Moran/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

The teams for the first Monday Night Rugby fixture of the 2020/21 Guinness PRO14 season – and indeed the history of the tournament – have been named with Munster and Cardiff Blues battling to retain their unbeaten records and claim top spot in Conference B.


The PRO14 say: “Monday Night Rugby fixtures have been introduced as an innovative solution to prevent clashes with international fixtures over the next six rounds. By utilising Sundays and Mondays, the Guinness PRO14 can ensure fans do not have to choose country over club, allowing teams to have minimum six-day turnarounds between games and providing opportunities for our broadcasters to show games in prime time slots at the start of the week.”

Teams for this ground-breaking fixture and details for match officials are as follows:

Video Spacer

Video Spacer
Zebo talks about his odd relationship with Irish Rugby

Munster: Mike Haley, Calvin Nash, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam, Ben Healy, Craig Casey; James Cronin, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Billy Holland (Capt), Jack O’Donoghue, John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Josh Wycherley, Roman Salanoa, Jean Kleyn, Chris Cloete, Nick McCarthy, JJ Hanrahan, Damian de Allende

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Aled Summerhill, Rey Lee-Lo, Willis Halaholo, Hallam Amos; Jarrod Evans, Lloyd Williams (capt); Corey Domachowski, Krisitan Dacey, Dmitri Arhip, Ben Murphy, Rory Thornton, James Ratti, James Botham, Olly Robinson.

Replacements: Ethan Lewis, Brady Thyer, Scott Andrews, Sam Moore, Alun Lawrence, Lewis Jones, Jason Tovey, Garyn Smith


Cardiff Blues head coach John Mulvihill said: “We knew it would be really important to make a good start to the season and we were pleased with our victories over Zebre and Connacht, and nine points from a possible 10, but this will be an even bigger test. We are acutely aware of the quality of Munster, who have secured two good wins of their own, particularly on their home patch, but we can go there with a bit of confidence and momentum. We have prepared well, with a lot of focus and we know we have to deliver a complete performance while remaining very disciplined.”

Thomond Park, Limerick 20:15 UK
Referee: Andrea Piardi (FIR, 8th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Frank Murphy, Eoghan Cross (both IRFU)
TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU)

Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now
PRO 14    

Teams named for historic PRO14 Monday Night fixture