Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Rugby World Cup 2021 quarter-final draw announced

By Lucy Lomax
WHANGAREI, NEW ZEALAND - OCTOBER 22: Maia Roos of New Zealand scores a try during the Pool A Rugby World Cup 2021 match between New Zealand and Scotland at Northland Events Centre on October 22, 2022, in Whangarei, New Zealand.

The quarter-final draw for Rugby World Cup 2021 was announced on Sunday after a thrilling pool phase final round determined the eight teams who remain in the hunt to lift the coveted trophy in New Zealand.


At the end of the pool phase, the eight teams that have made the quarter-finals were ranked from one to eight based on their results, with the three pool winners seeded first to third, runners-up fourth to sixth and the two best third-placed teams seventh and eighth.

The eight teams who have progressed through to the knockout phase, in order of their seedings, are: New Zealand, Canada, England, France, Italy, Australia, USA and Wales.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

The Rugby World Cup 2021 tournament format sees the top seeds play the eighth in the quarter-finals, the second seeds face the seventh, third play sixth and fourth meet fifth.

Whang?rei’s Northland Events Centre is expected to once again draw a packed crowd when it hosts the first two quarter-finals with France v Italy at 16:30 local time (GMT+13) followed by hosts New Zealand v Wales at 19:30.

Saturday’s triple-header saw 16, 571 fans at the Northland Events Centre – the largest attendance at a sports event at the venue since the British and Irish Lions tour in 2017 – fill the stadium to witness the Black Ferns defeat Scotland.

Auckland’s Wait?kere Stadium will then host the remaining two quarter-finals on Sunday, with England v Australia at 13:30 local time, followed by Canada v USA at 16:30.


The winners will progress to the semi-finals at Eden Park on Saturday, 5 November, while the losing teams will return home.

The winner of England v Australia will take on either Canada or the USA in the first semi-final at 16:30, with the victor of New Zealand v Wales facing either France or Italy in the second semi-final at 19:30 local time.

It is the first time Italy have reached a Rugby World Cup quarter-final – men’s or women’s – and welcome news for the group of passionate supporters who have joined them in New Zealand to watch their journey.

Rugby World Cup debutants Fiji along with Japan, Scotland and South Africa head home after failing to gain enough points to progress beyond the pool phase.


Tickets are still available. For more information and to purchase tickets go to


Join free

Boks Office | Jesse Kriel reveals the hardest team he had to play at the Rugby World Cup

Big Jim Walks and Talks with Handré Pollard

My Best Half | Episode Two | Katelyn Vahaakolo & Patricia Maliepo

Bernard Jackman & Stuart Hogg | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

Wildknights v Sungoliath

Beyond 80 | Episode 2

Rugby Europe Men's Championship | Georgia v Spain | Full Match Replay


Trending on RugbyPass


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

Mzilikazi 2 hours ago
Is the Six Nations balance of power shifting?

An hugely interesting article. Thanks, Nick. Some seem to find this a poor 6 N, but I think it has thrown up a number of fascinating contests. Ofc the falling away of France is always going to be a major point of discussion. The loss of both half backs has hurt them for sure. But they should still be better. Both France and England could easily have been sitting with three defeats right now, especially France. In England’s case, I thought the try Mitchell scored against the Italians was lucky, as he was clearly held in the tackle , but carried on to the line without releasing and regaining the ball. The English blitz defence being talked about so much is still a work in progress, and Ireland, with their powerful men in both backs and forwards can do damage there. I also thought in last weekends game against Scotland, England were pushingtheir luck at the breakdowns, turning them into a chaotic brawl. A different referee may not see it their way so much against Ireland and France. Ireland’s front row does concern me. The starters have not always looked in control, and Andrew Porter is a worry, as he will now be very closely watched in these next two games. Tadgh Furlong is not the player he was at the set piece, and will need to be on his mettle against the very streetwise Genge at Twickenham. I really enjoyed the stats heavy approach in this article. So much that passes one by are brought starkly into the light of day. Finn Russell’s deadly accuracy, the significance of the Welsh backrow duo, Italy’s attacking drop of under a new coach, as they are coming much closer to winning in these games this year.

5 Go to comments
TRENDING Ben Gollings has degraded Fiji sevens squad claims ex wing Ben Gollings has degraded Fiji sevens squad claims ex wing