Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Thorn shuffles backline for Bulls match

The Reds have made one personnel change and three positional shifts in the backline for their Super Rugby match against the Bulls in Brisbane.


Samu Kerevi shifts from outside to inside centre, while Chris Feauai-Sautia moves from the wing to outside centre with Filipo Daugunu earning his run-on debut on the wing.

The forward pack remains unchanged from last week’s team which defeated the Brumbies 18-10.

The match will be Feauai-Sautia’s 50th Queensland and Super Rugby cap, after making his debut back in 2012. The 25-year-old has been back to his damaging best since returning from injury ahead of last year’s National Rugby Championship, spearheading Queensland Country’s attack on the way to their first title.

For the Bulls, Springbok flyhalf Handre Pollard changes position again.

Pollard, who played at inside centre in a loss to the Lions last week, returns to flyhalf for the encounter in Brisbane.

Pollard played at inside centre in place of the injured Bulls captain Burger Odendaal, who remains sidelined with a rib injury he sustained in their opening match against the Hurricanes.


Johnny Kotze will play at inside centre against the Reds.

There is also a return to the starting line-up for Warrick Gelant, who replaces Divan Rossouw at fullback.

Rossouw will join Marnitz Boshoff (who made way for Pollard’s return to flyhalf) on the bench.

Up front, Bulls coach John Mitchell moves Nick de Jager to Number 8, with Hanro Liebenberg moving to the side of the scrum in place of Thembelani Bholi – who drops out of the 23 altogether.

Jason Jenkins will take De Jager’s place on the bench.

Jenkins will make his first appearance in this year’s competition if he is called upon.



15. Aidan Toua, 14. Filipo Daugunu, 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12. Samu Kerevi, 11. Eto Nabuli, 10. Jono Lance, 9. James Tuttle, 8. Caleb Timu, 7. Liam Wright, 6. Adam Korczyk, 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Izack Rodda, 3. Taniela Tupou, 2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1. James Slipper (C).
Replacements: 16. Alex Mafi, 17. JP Smith, 18. Sef Fa’agase, 19. Harry Hockings, 20. Angus Scott-Young, 21. Tate McDermott, 22. Hamish Stewart, 23. Duncan Paia’aua.


15. Warrick Gelant, 14. Travis Ismaiel, 13. Jesse Kriel, 12. Johnny Kotze, 11. Duncan Matthews, 10. Handre Pollard (C), 9. Andre Warner, 8. Nick de Jager, 7. Hanro Liebenberg, 6. Roelof Smit, 5. Lodewyk de Jager, 4. Rudolph Snyman, 3. Frans van Wyk, 2. Jaco Visagie, 1. Pierre Schoeman.
Replacements: 16. Adriaan Strauss, 17. Lizo Gqoboka, 18. Trevor Nyakane, 19. Jason Jenkins, 20. Marco van Staden, 21. Embrose Papier, 22. Marnitz Boshoff, 23. Divan Rossouw.

Courtesy of @rugby365


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING Jason Ryan labels contentious All Blacks selection call 'spicy' and 'tasty' Jason Ryan labels All Blacks selection 'spicy'