Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

The ProD2 new arrivals selection that illustrates its increasing financial clout

By Ian Cameron
Henry Speight. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

If you need convincing with regards to the financial clout of the ProD2, then look no further than the list of new arrivals into the competition ahead of next term.


While the RFU Championship is seemingly edging closer to semi-professional status, the ProD2 appears to be going in the opposite direction, gaining in spending power with each passing season.

Technically the ProD2 shares the same €11.3m (£10.1m) LNR imposed salary cap as their Top 14 colleagues, and while few can spend to that limit, it allows those with funds to compete with the PRO14, Gallagher Premiership and Super Rugby for player resources, and easily blow the likes of the RFU Championship and the MLR out of the water.  Beziers are a case in point. The former French champions who are in the throes of being taken over by billionaire UAE investors andcand even wield financial resources that would make the most liquid of Premiership side’s blush.

Video Spacer

RugbyPass and Budgy Smuggler are teaming up for a unique competition.

Video Spacer

RugbyPass and Budgy Smuggler are teaming up for a unique competition.

Increasingly players who could still be mixing it in top-flight rugby competitions are having their heads turned by the money on offer, the French mode de vie and – for veterans – the potential draw of the country’s generous unemployment benefit system.

This year’s new arrivals include high profile signing like Wallaby Henry Speight, Fijian try machine Vereniki Goneva, former European Player of the Season Nick Abendanon and blockbusting No.8 Carl Fearns. But there are also younger stars like Munster’s Darren O’Shea, Racing’s Ben Volavola and Bristol Bears Nik Stirzaker.

1 Ushangi Tcheishvili – Biarritz via Montpellier
2 Jody Jenneker – Vannes via Castres
3 Siua Halanukonuka – Perpignan via Glasgow Warriors
4 Darren O’Shea – Vannes via Munster
5 Robin Copeland – SA XV via Connacht
6 Alex Tulou – Beziers via Castres
7 Luke Hamilton – Oyonnax via Bristol Bears
8 Carl Fearns – Rouen via Lyon
9 Nic Stirzaker – Montauban via Bristol Bears
10 Ben Volavola – Perpignan via Racing 92
11 Vereniki Goneva – Mont-de-marsan via Harlequins
12 Francis Saili – Biarritz via Harlequins
13 Jackson Willison – Soyaux-Angoulême via Bath
14 Henry Speight – Biarritz via Reds
15 Nick Abendanon – Vannes via Clermont

16 Francois Da Ros – Biarritz via Brive
17 Beka Kakabadze – Oyonnax via Clermont
18 James Johnston – Rouen via Brive
19 Marvin Woki – Rouen via Tarbes
20 Dan Baker – Mont-de-Marsan via Ospreys
21 Ludovic Radosavljevic – Aix-en-Provence via Castres
22 Shaun Reynolds – Nevers via Lions
23 Alexis Palisson – Colomiers via Stade Francais


Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Trending on RugbyPass


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

finn 8 hours ago
Massive red flag raised by weakened Champions Cup teams – Andy Goode

I wonder if the problem of some teams not taking it that seriously would be helped by making performance in the champions cup count towards qualification and/or seeding in the following year’s competition. Eg. top four seeds would be winners of the URC, premiership, and top 14, plus best performing team in the previous year’s CC who have not otherwise qualified. Doing that the seedings for this years comp. would have been: Tier one: Saracens - Munster - Toulouse - la Rochelle Tier two: Sale - Stormers - Racing 92 - Leinster Tier three: Leicester - Connacht - Bordeaux - Exeter Tier four: Northampton - Ulster - Lyon - Sharks Tier five: Harlequins - Glasgow - Stade Francais - Edinburgh Tier six: Bath - Bulls - Toulon - Ospreys The competition would probably work better with fewer teams, so I’d probably favour only the first 4 tiers being invited, and then going straight to a quarter final without a round of 16. On the one hand this would possibly incentivise teams to take the champions cup seriously, and on the other it would mean that the latter stages would be more likely to involve teams that have demonstrated a willingness to take the competition seriously. The main differences between my proposed system and the actual draw is that mine would give la Rochelle a fairly easy ride to the quarters, and would either exclude the Bulls entirely or would give then an insurmountably difficult draw. As it happened Exeter got quite an easy pool draw but that was a bit of a fluke. My system would reward Exeter for being one of the teams that demonstrably devote a lot of attention to the CC by guaranteeing them a good draw.

14 Go to comments
TRENDING Why Ireland has two unofficial world titles and South Africa has none Why Ireland has two unofficial world titles