Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Ospreys release Scott Williams and 11 other players

By Sam Smith
Scott Williams an injury down for Autumn internationals (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

The Ospreys have confirmed the 12 players leaving the region at the end of the season, including Wales centre Scott Williams.


Williams, who signed for Ospreys in 2018, made four appearances in Wales’ 2012 Grand Slam, scoring a late winning try against England at Twickenham, then made the same number in the following year’s Championship success.

After originally making his regional debut against the Ospreys in 2010, Williams has played over 120 times for the Scarlets, helping them to the Guinness PRO12 title in 2017.

Video Spacer

Ali Price | All Access | The moment he knew he was a Lion & facing the Springbok stars

Video Spacer

Ali Price | All Access | The moment he knew he was a Lion & facing the Springbok stars

Williams developed through the ranks at Newcastle Emlyn and Whitland and played for Wales Under 20 in 2009 and 2010 and previously represented Wales at U16 and U18. His senior debut came against the Barbarians in June 2011 and went to that year’s Rugby World Cup, playing three times.

The 30-year-old has amassed 58 caps for Wales, although he hasn’t been involved since 2019.

Also being released is fellow Wales centre Cory Allen, who won 6 caps to date.  Gareth Evans, Shaun Venter and Luke Price have also been released.

In a statement, the club say: “The Ospreys would like to pay tribute to all the players leaving and to thank them for their contribution to the team and wish them all the best in the next chapter of their careers.

“We are proud that you have worn the jersey and played your part in this team’s history.

“We pay tribute to the professionalism, commitment and diligence of all the players and the way they have handled themselves during these unprecedented times.


Departing Players: Gareth Evans (16 games), Shaun Venter(23), Scott Williams (27), Cory Allen (34), Luke Price (52).

Departing Academy Players: Jordan Walters, Rhys Davies, Garyn Lloyd, Rhys Thomas, Brad Roderick, Caine Woolerton, Ben Cambriani.


Join free

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Big Jim Show | Guinness Six Nations | England v Scotland

Vancouver SVNS - Day 2 - Full Replay

Vancouver SVNS - Day 1 - Full Replay

Life on Tour: 4

Wolfhounds v Clovers | Celtic Challenge 2024 | Full Match Replay

Boks Office | Jesse Kriel reveals the hardest team he had to play at the Rugby World Cup

Big Jim Walks and Talks with Handré Pollard


Trending on RugbyPass


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

finn 6 hours ago
Why the world needs a reverse Lions tour

I think there’s a lot of reasons this wouldn’t work, but if we’re just proposing fun things how about a “World Series” held the june/july following a world cup. The teams competing each four years would be: the current world champions The Pacific Islands The British & Irish Lions The World XV Barbarians FC to ensure all teams are fairly evenly matched, the current world champions would name their squad first; then The Pacific Islands would name next, and would be able to select any pacific qualified players not selected by the world champions, including players already “captured” by non-pacific nations who would otherwise have been eligible for selection (eg. Bundee Aki); the Lions would select next; and then The World XV and Barbarians FC would be left to fight over anyone not selected. Some people will point out that 5 teams is too many for a mid-year round robin, particularly as it would be nice to have a final as well; and they would be right! But because we’re just having fun here we’re going to innovate an entirely new format for rugby, where the round robin is played in one stadium over the course of one day, with each game lasting just 40 minutes with no half time or change of ends. The round robin decides the seedings for the knockouts, which are contested by all 5 teams in one stadium over the course of one day, according to the following schedule: Knockout Round 1: seed 5 v seed 4 (contested over 1 half of indetermined length, finishing when one team reaches 7 points) ~ 10 minute break ~ Quarter Final: winner of Round 1 v seed 3 (contested over 1 half of indetermined length, finishing when one team reaches 7 points) ~ 10 minute break ~ Semi Final: winner of Quarter Final v seed 2 (contested over 1 half of indetermined length, finishing when one team reaches 7 points) ~ 10 minute break ~ Final: winner of Semi Final v seed 1 (played as a standard 80 minute rugby match) for the round robin, teams would name a 15 man starting lineup and a 16 man bench. Substitutions during games can only be made for injuries, but any number of substitutions can be made between games. The same rules apply for the finals, except that we return to having a regular 8 man bench, and would allow substitutions as normal during the 80 minute final.

15 Go to comments
TRENDING 'It just doesn't make sense': Ex-All Black blasts handling of Ethan Blackadder Ex-All Black blasts handling of Ethan Blackadder