Nigel Owens' previous stance may explain illegality in the Mapimpi tackle
Wallabies wing Marika Koroibete’s missile-like try-saving tackle on Makazole Mapimpi has come under the spotlight.
The flying Fijian-born Wallaby sent Mapimpi cartwheeling over while popping the ball free in a spectacular collision late in the first half.
The tackle could have ended dangerously for Mapimpi and questions were asked over whether there was a wrap by the Australian winger.
A large portion of South African fans thought the tackle was a shoulder charge that warranted a yellow card punishment and possibly a penalty try.
Yellow card as reward for football style theatrics from Nic White, but not even a penalty for Koroibete’s no arms “try saving” tackle on Mapimpi!? World rugby is in trouble! pic.twitter.com/vsQ2WP5iOW pic.twitter.com/LDVCVbPjff
— Trevor Meaker (@TrevorMeaker) August 27, 2022
Can anyone explain rugby rules as I obviously have no clue. Koroibete’s shoulder charge on @Makazole16 not looked at even tho it should be a penalty try & yellow, but @fafdeklerk sees yellow after Nic White’s theatrics #AUSvRSA @StanSportRugby pic.twitter.com/XTn4p2zev7
— Kris Van Wellen (@KrisVanWellen) August 27, 2022
No arms shoulder charge on Mapimpi doesn’t get looked at. Nic White auditions for the Socceroos and Faf gets yellow. Laughable.
— Derek Alberts (@derekalberts1) August 27, 2022
How there wasn’t even a second look for an arm wrap on Mapimpi boggles my mind #SSRugby
— Matt Andrews (@matt_mka) August 27, 2022
Awful tackle technique. Head the wrong side… But, left arm attempts to wrap, it’s held long, not tucked into his body. Mapimpi also is off the floor (looking like an attempted NFL style TD leap) as contact occurs, which makes it look worse. https://t.co/TpY3skuEZm
— Dan Hallett (@danthedealer) August 27, 2022
On review of the tape the match officials deemed there appeared to be an attempt with the arms by Koroibete, particularly the left arm around the midriff.
Lost in the review was consideration for the Springbok winger’s influence in what became a hairy collision.
Mapimpi appeared to launch himself airborne a split second before contact in what appeared to be an effort to leap or jump over the arriving tackler.
The Springbok planted both feet at the same time and propelled himself upward which is deemed illegal.
Well regarded former referee Nigel Owens explained his stance on this after England wing Jonny May jumped in the act of scoring against Italy in 2021.
“Diving for the line to score a try is allowed,” he explained on Twitter.
“Jumping in the air to avoid a tackle is not.
“May jumps up to avoid tackle first which is not diving for the line.”
Comments
Join free and tell us what you really think!
Join Free
Latest Comments
Its a great way to clobber the credibility of a competition....
Go to commentsGreat article. Very well expressed and I loved the part about the ravens leaving the tower. I suppose what's really changed is the advent of professionalism whereby the Six Nations teams are as fit, or fitter, than the Southern Hemisphere sides, which hasn't happened regularly until recently. Southern Hemisphere coaches like Cotter, Jones, Schmidt, Gatland and even Hansen with Wales have added immeasurably to our knowledge pool also. If one were to pick the best team in the world right now, you'd surely think Etzebeth, Koiebiete and Malherbe. But you might just think Dupont, Capuozzo, van der Flier and Beirne before them. That would never have happened when the GOATS McCaw and Carter were around. Happy days and sets the scene for a great tournament where sharp-beaked hawks look set to battle it out with the ravens for supremacy of the tower!
Go to comments