Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global
New Zealand New Zealand
France France

Ireland make one change for World Rugby U20 Championship final

By Josh Raisey
Ruadhan Quinn of Ireland U20 celebrates after winning the match during the World Rugby U20 Championship 2023 semi final match between Ireland and South Africa. South Africa. (Photo by World Rugby/World Rugby via Getty Images)

Ireland U20 flanker James McNabney will return from his two-match ban to start against France U20 on Friday in the World Rugby U20 Championship final in the only change head coach Richie Murphy has made from the team that beat South Africa U20 in the semi-final.


McNabney was handed the ban for a dangerous tackle against Australia U20 in round two, but returns to start in the final, forcing Diarmuid Mangan to move from the back-row to the second-row and meaning Charlie Irvine drops to the bench.

There are two changes on the bench, with Max Clein replacing Danny Sheahan at hooker and Irvine replacing Dan Barron.

Murphy said: “The entire group are fully focused on producing our best performance of the season on Friday night because we know we’ll need it against a very strong France team. We have made good progress throughout the tournament but we will need to fine-tune all areas of our game for the final.

“The players and staff are excited about the challenge ahead and we look forward to representing Ireland in the World Rugby U20 Championship final. The level of support we have received from back home throughout has been incredible and a major boost for everyone, and we will do everything to finish the season on the ultimate high.”

Ireland U20s
15. Henry McErlean (Terenure/Leinster)
14. Andrew Osborne (Naas/Leinster)
13. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
12. John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht)
11. James Nicholson (UCD/Leinster)
10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)
9. Fintan Gunne (Terenure College RFC/Leinster)
1. Paddy McCarthy (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
2. Gus McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)(captain)
3. Ronan Foxe (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD/Leinster)
5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)
6. James McNabney (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
7. Ruadhan Quinn (Old Crescent RFC/Munster)
8. Brian Gleeson (Garryowen/Munster)

16. Max Clein (Garryowen/Munster)
17. George Hadden (Clontarf/Leinster)
18. Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connacht)
19. Charlie Irvine (Queen’s University/Ulster)
20. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
21. Oscar Cawley (Naas/Leinster)
22. Matthew Lynch (Dublin University/Leinster)
23. Sam Berman (Dublin University/Leinster)


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


As of today you will need to reset your password to log into RugbyPass to continue commenting on articles.

Please click the ‘Login’ button below to be redirected and start the account validation and password reset process.

Thank you,


Mary 376 days ago

Looking forward to this game and very sure Ireland can take it. 🇮🇪

Wallabies_Larkham 376 days ago

Wish them well

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE Naturally loud and incredibly fast: Brazil bring fiesta rugby to Paris Naturally loud and incredibly fast: Brazil bring fiesta rugby to Paris