Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Henshaw returns as Leinster and Munster name sides for URC SF

By Ian Cameron
Robbie Henshaw (Photo By David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Robbie Henshaw is set to return to the Leinster’s starting side as they take on Munster in their URC semi-final at the Aviva Stadium.


He starts at 13 and partners Charlie Ngatai at 12.

There is also a return for Ireland hooker Ronan Kelleher, who has overcome a shoulder injury. The Lions tourist is set to feature for the province for the first time since January.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Jimmy O’Brien starts at full-back, with Tommy O’Brien and Dave Kearney named on the wings. Harry Byrne and Luke McGrath combines at halfback.

Michael Milne and Michael Ala’alatoa pack down either side of Kelleher in the front row. Ryan Baird and Jason Jenkins form the link up again in the engine room, while Max Deegan, Will Connors and Jack Conan in the back row.

Meanwhile Keith Earls starts for Munster after he recovered from a groin injury earlier this week and makes his first start since his 200th Munster appearance against Sharks three weeks prior.

The injury southern province are without RG Snyman, Conor Murray and Malakai Fekitoa. There is however good news as Captain Peter O’Mahony (elbow) and Diarmuid Barron (shoulder) both proved their fitness.


Craig Casey, Ben Healy and John Hodnett also come into the side with Tadhg Beirne moving into the second row. Jack Crowley starts at inside centre to make way for Ben Healy at 10.

LEINSTER: 15. Jimmy O’Brien, Tommy O’Brien, Robbie Henshaw, Charlie Ngatai, Dave Kearney, Harry Byrne, Luke McGrath, Michael Milne, Rónan Kelleher, Michael Ala’alatoa, Ryan Baird, Jason Jenkins, Max Deegan, Will Connors, Jack Conan

REPLACEMENTS: John McKee, Cian Healy, Thomas Clarkson, Joe McCarthy, Josh van der Flier, Nick McCarthy, Ciarán Frawley, Liam Turner

MUNSTER: Mike Haley; Keith Earls, Antoine Frisch, Jack Crowley, Shane Daly; Ben Healy, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.


REPLACEMENTS: Niall Scannell, Josh Wycherley, Roman Salanoa, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Donoghue, Neil Cronin, Rory Scannell, Alex Kendellen.



Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


1 Comment
Michael 403 days ago

It's going to be close. I think Munster can beat them. There is nothing between those two line ups

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE How England can shatter the All Blacks' Eden Park streak How England can shatter the All Blacks' Eden Park streak