Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global
NZ NZ

EPCR statement: The Charles Ollivon red card hearing verdict

By Liam Heagney
GettyImages-1456760890 (1)

Former France skipper Charles Ollivon has been cleared to play for Toulon in their upcoming Challenge Cup final versus Glasgow in Dublin on May 19. The back-rower was red-carded in the early stages of his team’s semi-final win over Benetton last weekend, but he has now been cleared to play with immediate effect after the sending-off by referee Karl Dickson was overturned.

ADVERTISEMENT

A statement read: “The RC Toulon flanker, Charles Ollivon, has had the red card that was shown to him during his club’s EPCR Challenge Cup semi-final match against Benetton Rugby dismissed following an independent disciplinary hearing.

“Ollivon was sent off by the referee, Karl Dickson (England), in the seventh minute of the match at Stade Felix Mayol for tackling the Benetton full-back, Matteo Minozzi, in a dangerous manner in contravention of law 9.13.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

“An independent disciplinary committee comprising Jennifer Donovan (Ireland, chair), Martyn Wood (England) and Tony Wheat (Ireland) heard evidence and submissions from Ollivon, who did not accept the red card decision, from the RC Toulon sporting director, Laurent Emmanueli, and from the Toulon legal director, Cedric Rouhaud.

“In addition, submissions were heard from the EPCR disciplinary officer, Liam McTiernan, and the Toulon legal assistant, Sophie Magdziak, was also present during the hearing.

Related

“The committee accepted Ollivon’s contention that the level of danger of his tackle was not high, and it was decided that the red card should be dismissed. Ollivon is free to play and EPCR have the right to appeal the decision.”

ADVERTISEMENT

Join free

LIVE

{{item.title}}

Trending on RugbyPass

Comments

1 Comment
C
Christopher 413 days ago

I thought the red card decision was quite unwarranted. For sure Toulon did not suffer in a significant way from his absence, but I had the distinct impression that the referee was determined that his on-field decision was supported by the ARs and the TMO - quite wrongly in my view. Ollivon is about a foot taller than the player he tackled, and there was never (in my view again) any malice OR danger in the way he tackled the opposition player.

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free
ADVERTISEMENT

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE
FEATURE Freddie Steward: 'I wouldn’t say I've had it easy' Freddie Steward: 'I wouldn’t say I've had it easy'
Search