Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Andy Farrell includes two uncapped players in Ireland's 36-man Six Nations squad

By Ciarán Kennedy
Andy Farrell has named his squad for the 2021 Six Nations. (Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

The Ireland coaching group have selected a squad of 36 players for the upcoming 2021 Guinness Six Nations Championships. Jonathan Sexton captain’s the squad for a second Six Nations campaign and there are two uncapped players named in the squad, Munster’s Craig Casey and Ulster’s Tom O’Toole.


Leinster prop Tadhg Furlong makes the cut despite his lengthy injury lay-off. However, there is no room for Ulster back Jacob Stockdale, who misses out through injury.

Ireland have just two fixtures at the Aviva Stadium in the 2021 Guinness Six Nations hosting France in Round 2 and England on the final weekend of the Championship. In Round 1 Ireland will take on Wayne Pivac’s Wales at the Principality Stadium. Ireland’s first two fixtures of the 2021 Championships against Wales and France will both take place on Sunday afternoons.

Video Spacer

RugbyPass OFFLOAD | Episode 13 | Mike Brown & Jamie Roberts on Rivalries, World Cups, Bust ups and Lions Tours
Video Spacer
RugbyPass OFFLOAD | Episode 13 | Mike Brown & Jamie Roberts on Rivalries, World Cups, Bust ups and Lions Tours

Ireland’s third round fixture is at the Stadio Olimpico against Italy and in the penultimate round Ireland face Scotland at Murrayfield.

Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell, commented, “Since the Autumn international window the club season has had a good few disruptions and the cancellation of the European fixtures means there have been less opportunities for players to show form or to return from injury and get some minutes under their belts.

Tadhg (Furlong) hasn’t played in quite a while but he is ready to join the group. Unfortunately Jacob (Stockdale) will not be available to us.”

Ireland Squad 2021 Guinness 6 Nations Championships


Backs (17)
Bundee Aki (Connacht) 30 caps
Billy Burns (Ulster) 3 caps
Ross Byrne (Leinster) 11 caps
Craig Casey (Munster) uncapped
Andrew Conway (Munster) 24 caps
Shane Daly (Munster) 1 cap
Keith Earls (Munster) 88 caps
Chris Farrell (Munster) 14 caps
Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 5 caps
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster) 47 caps
Hugo Keenan (Leinster) 6 caps
Jordan Larmour (Leinster) 24 caps
James Lowe (Leinster) 2 caps
Stuart McCloskey (Ulster) 4 caps
Conor Murray (Munster) 87 caps
Garry Ringrose (Leinster) 30 caps
Jonathan Sexton (Leinster) 95 caps CAPTAIN

Forwards (19)
Tadhg Beirne (Munster) 17 caps
Will Connors (Leinster) 5 caps
Caelan Doris (Leinster) 7 caps
Ultan Dillane (Connacht) 17 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster) 25 caps
Cian Healy (Leinster) 104 caps
Dave Heffernan (Connacht) 5 caps
Iain Henderson (Ulster) 58 caps
Rob Herring (Ulster) 16 caps
Ronan Kelleher (Leinster) 6 caps
Dave Kilcoyne (Munster) 39 caps
Peter O’Mahony (Munster) 73 caps
Tom O’Toole (Ulster) uncapped
Andrew Porter (Leinster) 32 caps
Quinn Roux (Connacht) 16 caps
Rhys Ruddock (Leinster) 26 caps
James Ryan (Leinster) 32 caps
CJ Stander (Munster) 46 caps
Josh van der Flier (Leinster) 28 caps


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Ireland handed emphatic tour-opening defeat by Maori All Blacks Maori All Blacks thump Ireland