Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Six Nations: What is the Auld Alliance Trophy?

The Auld Alliance Trophy is one of the trophies up for grabs during the annual Six Nations Championship. For French and Scottish fans, this trophy is of great importance. However, it also has a much deeper and more symbolic meaning.

From the history of the Auld Alliance to the winners of this prestigious piece of silverware, here’s everything you need to know about the Auld Alliance Trophy.

Which teams compete for the Auld Alliance Trophy?

Two teams compete to win the Auld Alliance Trophy: France and Scotland. Every year, these two teams face one another at the Six Nations Championship and the winner of this annual match claims the trophy. 

When was the first Auld Alliance Trophy awarded?

The Auld Alliance Trophy was first awarded at the 2018 Six Nations. The annual Scotland vs France match was held on 11 February 2018 at Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh. Here, Scotland triumphed 32-26 and became the first team to lift the trophy.

The year 2018 was a significant milestone. The trophy was created by world-famous silversmiths and goldsmiths, Thomas Lyte & Co, to mark the centenary of Armistice and the end of World War I. 

What is the significance of the Auld Alliance Trophy?

The Auld Alliance Trophy commemorates the 30 Scottish and 22 French rugby players who gave their lives during the conflict. Their service and sacrifice is honoured in the design, which features two flowers of remembrance: poppies and cornflowers. 

The Auld Alliance Trophy pays homage to two heroic team captains: Scotland’s Eric Milroy and France’s Marcel Burgun. The solid silver trophy is inscribed in English and French: “In memory of Eric Milroy, Marcel Burgun and all the French and Scottish rugby players who fell during World War I”. 

Milroy earned 12 caps for Scotland, two of which were as captain. In fact, he captained Scotland during the final international test before WWI. Meanwhile, Burgun was a key member of the French squad. The centre was on the pitch for France’s first victory against Scotland in 1911.

What is the history of the Auld Alliance Trophy?

Although the trophy was introduced in 2018, the history of the Auld Alliance dates back to the 13th century. Meaning ‘old alliance’ in Scotland and translating as ‘Vieille Alliance’ in France, the term ‘Auld Alliance’ refers to a historic treaty between the two countries.

The Auld Alliance Trophy is named after an agreement that was signed in 1295. This treaty solidified an alliance between the two countries – and caused problems for England. The treaty stated that if one country was attacked by England, the other would send troops to invade England.

Which team has won the Auld Alliance Trophy the most?

Scotland and France have both won the Auld Alliance Trophy three times. Scotland won the inaugural trophy in 2018 before securing consecutive wins in 2020 and 2021. Meanwhile, France achieved their victories in 2019, 2022 and 2023. 

The Auld Alliance Trophy winners table

Here are the Auld Alliance Trophy winners by year:









11 February

Murrayfield, Edinburgh




23 February

Stade de France, Paris




8 March

Murrayfield, Edinburgh




26 March

Stade de France, Paris




26 February

Murrayfield, Edinburgh




26 February

Stade de France, Paris