Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Video - The first 5-point rugby conversion has been kicked

By Ian Cameron
Ben Cima lines up a 'jeopardy conversion 5 pointer' Credit: World Tens

The first five-point conversion has been kicked in rugby union and it’s happened at the inaugural Bermuda World Tens tournament.


The 10-a-side game, which is a hybrid form of the sport that sits somewhere between 15s and 7s, has a number of rule variations and ‘Conversion Jeopardy’ is maybe the most eye-catching and experimental.

According to World Tens: “Conversion jeopardy with the conversion after the try ensures that the conversion is now worth between 1 and 5 points depending where the kicker selects which zone to kick from.”

This allows a team to bag as many as 5 points if they successfully land a conversion from behind the halfway line.

USA Eagles international Ben Cima of the Ohio Aviators has landed the first 5 pointer, the first of its kind in rugby union, in his side’s match against Phoenix.

The World Tens Series is an international, professional rugby Tens Tournament. It’s privately owned teams tour the globe competing in pools and knockouts, in a similar fashion to the World Seven Series.

The first-ever World Tens Series tournament got underway in Bermuda this weekend and from 2021 the tournament will be expanded to include 16 teams competing in tournaments in 12 locations throughout the world.


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

Flankly 13 hours ago
Resilient Irish will test Springboks despite provincial setbacks

The Bok kryptonite is complacency. How did they lose to Japan in 2015, or to Italy in 2016? There are plenty of less dramatic examples. They often boil down to the Boks dialing back their focus and intensity, presuming they can win with less than 100% commitment. This can be true of most teams, but there is a reason that the Boks are prone to it. It boils down to the Bok game plan being predicated on intensity. The game plan works because of the relentless and suffocating pressure that they apply. They don’t allow the opponent to control the game, and they pounce on any mistake. It works fantastically, but it is extremely demanding on the Bok players to pull it off. And the problem is that it stops working if you execute at anything less than full throttle. Complacency kills the Boks because it can lead to them playing at 97% and getting embarrassed. So the Bulls/Leinster result is dangerous. It’s exactly what is needed to introduce that hint of over-confidence. Rassie needs to remind the team of the RWC pool game, and of the fact that Ireland have won 8 of the 12 games between the teams in the last 20 years. And of course the Leinster result also means that Ireland have a point to prove. Comments like “a club team beating a test team” will be pasted on the changing room walls. They will be out to prove that the result of the RWC game truly reflects the pecking order between the teams. The Boks can win these games, but, as always, they need to avoid the kryptonite.

29 Go to comments
FEATURE Brumbies the best team in Australia but still nothing to show for it Brumbies the best team in Australia but still nothing to show for it