Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Saracens back on their perch to continue the dynasty

Despite spirited resistance from Sale Sharks, few members of the Twickenham crowd doubted Mark McCall's men would wrestle back their Premiership crown

RugbyPass+ Home

Ardie Savea, Tyrel Lomax and Jordie Barrett to miss Chiefs clash

By Finn Morton
(Photo by Joe Allison/Getty Images)

All Blacks Ardie Savea, Tyrel Lomax and Jordie Barrett are among the big-name players who will not feature for the Hurricanes this weekend when they take on the ladder-leading Chiefs in Hamilton.


As confirmed by the Hurricanes on Thursday, 11 players are either unavailable for selection or on All Blacks rest ahead of the blockbuster round 13 clash.

As well as Savea, Lomax and Barrett, All Blacks Dane Coles and Asafo Aumua are also unavailable. Six other players has also been ruled out due to New Zealand Under-20s commitments.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

In the absence of Ardie Savea, brother Julian will take up the captaincy this week. Julian, who missed last weekend’s match against Moana Pasifikia, will start on the right wing.

Prop Xavier Numia returns from a rest, and will pack down in the front row alongside former All Black Owen Franks and exciting prospect Jacob Devery.

James Blackwell and Isaia Walker-Leawere will combine in the second row again this week, while Devan Flanders and Du’Plessis Kirifi have retained their spots on the flanks.

Brayden Iose comes into the starting side this week at No. 8, having replaced captain Ardie Savea at the back of the scrum.


Rising star Cam Roigard is back in the No. 9 shirt this week, and will link up with flyhalf Aidan Morgan in the halves.


Peter Umaga-Jensen and Billy Proctor will start in the midfield, while Kini Naholo and Josh Moorby join captain Savea in the outside backs.

“It’s great to have Jules captain this week on his 151st outside with the Hurricanes,” coach Jason Holland said in a statement.

“He’s been leading really well, as part of our leadership group, and he has some good people to help him out there with the likes of (James Blackwell), (Billy) Proctor and (Jamie) Booth.


“We’re confident there is a good mix of experience in this group.”


The match will kick off at 7.05pm NZST at Hamilton’s FMG Stadium on Saturday.


Hurricanes team to take on Chiefs

  1. Xavier Numia
  2. Jacob Devery
  3. Owen Franks
  4. James Blackwell
  5. Isaia Walker-Leawere
  6. Devan Flanders
  7. Du’Plessis Kirifi
  8. Brayden Iose
  9. Cam Roigard
  10. Aidan Morgan
  11. Kini Naholo
  12. Peter Umaga-Jensen
  13. Billy Proctor
  14. Julian Savea (c)
  15. Josh Moorby


  1. Hame Faiva
  2. Tevita Mafileo
  3. Pasilio Tosi
  4. Justin Sangster
  5. Caleb Delany
  6. Jamie Booth
  7. Riley Hohepa
  8. Salesi Rayasi

Unavailable for selection and All Blacks rest: Ruben Love, Tyler Laubscher, Reed Prinsep, TJ Perenara, Brett Cameron, Bailyn Sullivan, Dane Coles, Asafo Aumua, Ardie Savea, Tyrel Lomax, Jordie Barrett, Siale Lauaki, Peter Lakai, Cooper Flanders, Jordi Viljoen, Hunter Morrison, Harry Godfrey


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Springboks name 33-man squad for latest camp in Durban Springboks named 33-man training squad for Durban